You are here

Spirit: California Blues Redux CD

California Blues Redux
Price: $14.95

Disc One

  1. California Blues
  2. Look Over Yonder
  3. The River
  4. Call on Me
  5. Crossroads
  6. Song For Clyde
  7. Barking Up the Wrong Tree
  8. Pawnshop Blues
  9. Sugar Mama
  10. Stone Lover
  11. Gimme Some Lovin
  12. We Believe
  13. One World

Bonus Tracks

  1. Fixin’ To Die
  2. Indian Girl Blues
  3. Oriental Gun
  4. Soup Jam
  5. David
  6. Kind and Gentle Life
  7. Surprise Hidden Track

Bonus Live Disc:  Live 1993/5/6

  1. Love from Here
  2. Pawnshop Blues
  3. One World
  4. Red House
  5. Stewball
  6. Song For Clyde
  7. Medley:  Fixing to Die, Gopal, Phoenix, Land of the Rising Sun
  8. We Believe

California Blues was the last official release by Spirit, in late 1996.  It was released just weeks before Randy California’s tragic death.  The album was a compromise of sorts.  It originally began as an out and out blues album, but then pop material and various bonus tracks and multiple overdubs were thrown into the mix at the last minute making it a little uneven.

California Blues Redux, revisits the project, but with aim of re- presenting a rawer blues-edged album.   All the tracks used for this new version are superior remixes or alternate takes, and all have been remastered.  The original non-blues bonus tracks have been removed and replaced with more appropriate material, such as the delicate instrumental “David,” the haunting slide-driven “Kind and Gentle Life” and a couple of impromptu jams between California and Matt Andes.  The lone live track “Red House” has been removed in favor of the unreleased “Stone Lover.”  As a bonus for fans there is a second live disc from shows in 1995 and 1996 which focuses on the blues material and highlights Randy’s improvisational skills with some lengthy exploratory jams , such as the 18 minute version of "Love from Here" and the 16 minute medley of "Fixing to Die, Gopal and Land of the Rising Sun".  These two discs highlight the fact that Randy was at the top of his game in 1996 writing great material and making great music.