You are here

Sade :: Diamond Life

Out Of Stock
Diamond Life
Price: $29.99

Side 1sade solo
1   Smooth Operator 
2   Your Love Is King 
3   Hang On To Your Love  
4   Frankie's First Affair 
5   When Am I Going To Make A Living 

Side 2
1   Cherry Pie 
2   Sally  
3   I Will Be Your Friend  
4   Why Can't We Live Together 

Mastered by Kevin Gray


" of the best debut recordings ever made"

Elegance, class, and sophistication barely begins to describe the sound of Sade, the woman and the band. The 1984 debut album, Diamond Life, shimmers with glamour and style, a sleek, catchy hybrid of pop, soul and jazz. The album was driven by an irresistible sound, mood music that crosses over to dance with excellent musicianship and clever lyrics.

Diamond Life, spawned the band's first Top 10 U.S. hit, the bossa nova-tinged, "Smooth Operator" with its unforgettable sax work - a true classic. Other standouts are the swinging horn-peppered  "Your Love Is King," the retro-funk of "When Am I Going to Make a Living," the tender and lovely "I Will Be Your Friend" as well as an imaginative remake of Timmy Thomas’ 1971 hit "Why Can’t We Live Together" (with an extremely long, brilliant jazzy intro heavy with congas).

Diamond Life had international sales of over six million, becoming one of the top-selling debut recordings of the '80s and the bestselling debut ever by a British female vocalist. There has never been a lead singer quite like former model Sade Adu, her cool vocals and exotic looks grabbed everyone's attention. Right from the group's image (her ponytails, large hoop earrings and backless dresses), and the fantastic blue-tinged black and white cover art (giving a retro look to match the sound), everything shimmers with a sultry yet subtle beauty, pulling you into an atmosphere of a midnight lounge or the club scene from which Sade emerged.



"Straddling R&B and pop to create the hooks and sultry allure that became Sade's soulful standard--intelligent and sexy at the same time."