You are here

Rickie Lee Jones::Flying Cowboys

Out of Stock
Rickie Lee Jones
Flying Cowboys
Price: $29.99

1    The Horses 
2    Just My Baby 
3    Ghetto Of My Mind 
4    Rodeo Girl 
5    Satellites 
6    Ghost Train 
7    Flying Cowboys 
8    Don't Let The Sun Catch You Crying 
9    Love Is Gonna Bring Us Back Alive
10  Away From The Sky 
11  Atlas' Marker 

Mastered by Kevin Gray

#30 on VH1's 100 Greatest Women of Rock & Roll

Rickie Lee Jones has always been a talented songwriter with a creative knack for telling her musical tales using vivid characters and lush musical arrangements.  Flying Cowboys shares much of the playful, childlike charm of her eponymous debut by exploring a wealth of themes and musical styles.  This album – Jones's first in five years – maintains her reputation for excellence.  The set was produced by Steely Dan's Walter Becker and featured backing from Scottish trio the Blue Nile as well as some of the best studio musicians in the world.

The album includes a stirring cover of Gerry and the Pacemakers' "Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying," and the college radio hit "Satellites," that reached  #23 on the Billboard Modern Rock chart. The sheer musicality of the vocals and harmonies coupled with the poetic, deep lyrics leads to a truly incredible work of art.

"...with Flying Cowboys, she is back at the very height of her considerable powers, having crafted a record that makes an indelible impression on first listen and retains its ability to startle long after that. For fans who have hoped for just such an album from Jones, Flying Cowboys is her much welcome, long-awaited wild gift."
ROLLING STONE, Anthony DeCurtis