You are here

Randy Newman :: 12 Songs

Out of Stock
Randy Newman
12 Songs
Price: $24.99

"Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time."

1. Have You Seen My Baby?
2. Let's Burn Down the Cornfield
3. Mama Told Me Not to Come
4. Suzanne
5. Lover's Prayer
6. Lucinda
7. Underneath the Harlem Moon 
8. Yellow Man
9. Old Kentucky Home
10. Rosemary
11. If You Need Oil
12. Uncle Bob's Midnight Blues


  Randy Newman's 1970 album, "12 Songs"  is the announcement of the full emergence of a leading innovator in rock and roll. The songs cover a wide range of styles, including rock 'n roll, R & B, folk, jazz, and blues.

The lyrical perspective on these darkly subtle, yet amazingly bright songs set the stage for his later career.  Cynicism, bitterness and sexual perversion are unleashed as he sings from the point of view of different characters; an arsonist, stalker, lonely misogynist, well-meaning racist, self-involved redneck and huckster salesman   Ugly people and beautiful music.

The subtle nuances of the music and Newman's unique phrasing require careful listening, and his performance is richly effective without complicated orchestration. The understated accompaniment serves the dark atmospherics of the songs - the sharpness produced by piano, guitar, drums and bass perfectly supports his moving and sometimes fragile voice.

Some of Newman's best songs are here, the obvious one is "Mama Told Me Not To Come" which Three Dog Night took to the top of the charts.

Superb material brilliantly executed, "12 Songs" was Randy Newman's first great album, and is still one of his finest moments on record. 


"12 Songs" is well produced, well paced, and brilliantly written. It's no mystery why it makes so many "Best albums of all time" lists."