You are here

New York Voices :: Let It Snow

A SurroundSound Christmas
New York Voices
Let It Snow
SKU: AFZ5 520
Price: $29.99

List of Tunes:
1. Let It Snow
2. Christmas Song/Christmas Time is Here
3. O, little town of Bethlehem
4. O Come, O Come Emmanuel
5. We Three Kings
6. Holiday For Strings
7. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
8. Sleepers, Wake!
9. O Come, All Ye Faithful
10. The Merry Medley: The Man With the Bag/I’d Like You for Christmas/Santa Claus Is Coming   to Town
11. I Wonder As I Wander
12. Coventry Carol
13. We Wish You a Merry Christmas
14. Silent Night

Produced by: Elliot Scheiner and Darmon Meader

Hybrid 5.1 Discreet Surround and High Def Stereo Multichannel SACD
5.1 surround sound mix: Elliot Scheiner
5.1 surround sound mastering: Elliot Scheiner
2 track stereo mastering: Darcy Proper

"A new surround sound sensation for the Christmas Season."


New York Voices is unquestionably one of the finest singing ensembles ever assembled and with Let It Snow, lend their quality vocals to the wintery season of cheer delivering a powerful performance of familiar Christmas songs. The music is traditional, the arrangements are new and innovative with much of the vocal arrangements and orchestrations contributed by a host of talents among them, Pat Hollenbeck of the Boston Pop fame and multiple Grammy Award-winning arranger Don Sebesky.

The thirteen Christmas songs are performed in a variety of settings using a standard six-piece rhythm section accompanied by a thirty-one piece studio orchestra on five tracks, a thirteen-piece big band on four songs, a septet on "I Wonder As I Wander," as well as wonderful a cappella treatments of religious songs like "O Come, O Come Emmanuel," and "Silent Night."

Sebesky's big band arrangement of the title song kicks off the music in high gear complete with some appreciable scatting and a tenor saxophone solo and ending in a crescendo of vocals. One of the highlights of the album is the medley of Mel Torme's classic "The Christmas Song" and the Charlie Brown holiday standard "Christmas Time Is Here." Another big band piece not to be missed is the swinging "O, Little Town of Bethlehem,"  the religious ballad "O Come, All Ye Faithful" and the big band rendition of "The Merry Medley." The Christmas standard "We Wish You A Merry Christmas" is the last large ensemble, high-octane piece featuring the brass instruments. Whether featuring lovely ballads, a swinging big band background, light orchestrations from a studio ensemble or pure a cappella vocals, New York Voices unwraps the enchanting Let It Snow as the newest Christmas present.

The New York Voices are, Darmon Meader, Kim Nazarian, Lauren Kinhan, and Peter Eldridge.

NY Voices


One of the best (and only) jazz vocal groups of the 1990s, the New York Voices use a repertoire that includes bop songs from the vocalese tradition, plus adaptations of more timely material from the jazz and pop worlds. Leader Darmon Meader (who also plays reeds and the EWI) had taken a vocal group to Europe in 1986 through Ithaca College, using the name of the New York Voices. The following year, the group became official, consisting of a rhythm section and singers: Meader (who also plays reeds and EWI), Kim Nazarian, Lauren Kinhan and Peter Eldridge. They have recorded an enjoyable series of CDs