You are here

Joe Walsh :: But Seriously, Folks...

Out Of Stock
Joe Walsh
But Seriously, Folks...
SKU: AFZ 079
Price: $24.99

1.  Over And Over 
2.  Second Hand Store 
3.  Indian Summer 
4.  At The Station
5.  Tomorrow
6.  Inner Tube
7.  Theme From Boat Weirdos 
8.  Life's Been Good (8:57 version)

Mastered by Steve Hoffman at Stephen Marsh Mastering

 " of those rare albums that does not have a bad track on it... truly a classic."

But Seriously, Folks... is the fourth studio album by Joe Walsh, released in 1978.  Although it looked like Walsh's solo efforts would be on hold indefinitely when he joined the Eagles, this album came as a pleasant surprise to many, and shows a wide diversity. So many subtle influences and sly hints at what sounds were drifting around Joe's head. There are pieces here of everything from reggae to country to pop to full-blown rock, and it all flows extremely well. Produced by Bill Szymczyk, this album features the core of Walsh's 1976 touring band including longtime collaborator drummer Joe Vitale from Walsh's former band Barnstorm, singer-guitarist Jay Ferguson, a former member of the group Spirit (who co-wrote one track on the album)  and renowned bassist Willie Weeks, who is well known for his association with singer Donnie Hathaway.

Walsh's signature slide guitar is present on this album, in the excellent solo on the reggae-tinged "Over And Over," and peppered throughout the nostalgic "Indian Summer," while "Second Hand Store" has a bit of a country feel to it, complete with pedal steel guitar courtesy of Don Felder. A bit of Eagles presence is heard in the harmonies of the laid-back "Tomorrow," with background vocals provided by Don Henley, Glenn Frey and Timothy B. Schmit. "At The Station" features the great double guitar work of Walsh and Felder. The sequence of "Inner Tube" and "Theme From Boat Weirdos" is beautifully done, and is widely considered to be the best of Walsh's instrumental work.  The recording flows from one song to the next before capping off with the full version of the Top 10 hit and concert favorite, "Life's Been Good," Walsh's hilarious, nearly 9 minute satire on rock stardom.