You are here

Grateful Dead : Shakedown Street

Grateful Dead
Shakedown Street
Price: $0.00

1. Good Lovin'
2. France
3. Shakedown Street
4. Srengetti
5. Fire On The Mountain

1. I Need A Miracle
2. From The Heart Of Me
3. Stagger Lee
4. All New Minglewood Blues
5. If I Had The World To Give

Mastered by Kevin Gray


Only ONE of this Classic Dead title...
This is very rare
Limited Edition #100

Grateful Dead <> Shakedown Street

"Shakedown Street" is a fascinating listen - classic sounds from a classic band. Even the jacket artwork is classic.

The Grateful Dead led by Jerry Garcia were one of the cornerstones of 60’s counterculture - the band had lots of members from diverse musical backgrounds, each lending a different facet to the band’s sound and approach to music. 1978's "Shakedown Street" is the their tenth studio album, and is definitive Dead - essential to any serious rock collection, a fusion of rock, funk, blues, reggae, country, and improvisational jam. Produced by Lowell George of Little Feat - the union between George and the Grateful Dead was certainly intriguing.

The album features Garcia and Bob Weir on vocals and guitars, Phil Lesh on bass and vocals, Keith Godchaux on vocals and keyboards, Donna Jean Godchaux on vocals, and Bill Kreutzmann and Mickey Hart on percussion.

Two of the Dead's most beloved live songs, "Shakedown Street" and "Fire on the Mountain", appear here. Their bouncy Caribbean-soul-style cover of The Rascals' "Good Lovin'" is irresistible. The Dead revive "New Minglewood Blues" (which they originally cut for their debut) and Garcia and Robert Hunter write their own "Stagger Lee" while Hart and Kreutzmann get a percussion workout on the instrumental "Serengetti," Bob Weir affects a bluesy growl on "I Need a Miracle" and Donna Godchaux's "From The Heart Of Me" is absolutely gorgeous.

The album cover art was by underground comics artist Gilbert Shelton.

Audio Fidelity CLUB Discounts DO NOT Apply to VAULT purchases.